Differences Between Category 2 and Category 1 CME Credits

Differences Between Category 2 and Category 1 CME Credits

by Katie Miller

Life Saver, NHCPS Blogger

posted on Oct. 18, 2016, at 12:30 p.m.


female nurse sitting chair using latopAS A PHYSICIAN, you are required to maintain licensure in the state where you practice. In order to maintain licensure, you must meet various requirements. One requirement all physicians must meet involves participating in various continuing medical education, or CME, activities. CME is also required for certification from various authorities in the field, as well as for membership in certain professional organizations.

What is CME?

Continuing medical education experiences are designed to encourage you to keep up with the latest developments in your field and to improve your skills over time. CME credits are divided into two categories: CME Category 1 Credits and CME Category 2 Credits.

Category 1 Credits

An American Medical Association Physician’s Recognition Award Category 1 Credit is one of the metrics used to verify that you have participated in continuing medical education activities, as required by various licensing, credentialing and professional organizations. Some of the organizations that require continuing education include the American College of Obstetricians, the American Osteopathic Association and the American Academy of Family Physicians. These credits are also required by 46 state licensing boards.

To earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credit, you must typically participate in activities that have been certified or approved for this purpose.

Category 2 Credits

Category 2 credits are credits that you can document on your own. These credits are earned for activities that are not certified for Category 1 Credit. Although these credits may be of value to some licensing, credentialing or professional organizations, earning them is not typically required. In addition, these credits will not satisfy Category 1 Credit requirements.

Some Exciting News from NHCPS!

We want to help you accelerate your career in the most convenient way possible. We are so thrilled to announce that here at NHCPS, we have just been approved to provide health care professionals who complete ACLS, PALS and BLS certification with CME Category 1 Credit. This credit can be used to meet the CME requirements of various state licensing boards, as well as other organizations.

Our certification programs are conducted entirely online, allowing you to complete the requirements without disrupting your busy schedule or compromising your ability to meet all of the demands of your job.

Want to learn more? Here are the resources you need:

About Katie

Katie Miller is a senior writer for NHCPS and is based in California. Miller is certified in CPR and enjoys blah blah blah blah.
Contact Katie Miller at katie.miller@nhcps.com.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *